Normanna Male Chorus of Tacoma
Tacoma, WA

Promoting Scandinavian Culture in Song Since 1888
At our 2013 Sangerfest we celebrated 125 years.

On October 15, 1888, a group of eight young and prominent businessmen from the Tacoma area — all immigrants from Norway — met in Parkland, in the aura of the Pacific Lutheran Academy, and formed the first small chorus in the State of Washington.

Actually a double quartet, they called themselves the Quartetten Luren. Through a series of moves and name changes, on October 27, 1924, ten men signed an “Agreement to Form a Corporation for Musical Purposes.”

On November 3, 1924, an organizational meeting ofthe Normanna Male Chorus was held in Normanna Hall in Tacoma.

We still endure, greatly enjoy and live on to sing!


We practice on Monday evening, at 6:30 pm, except on most federal-holiday Mondays and during our summer break, normally between Sangerfest and the first Monday in September.

On selected evenings of regular rehearsals — courtesy of our director, Jon Malmin, ably assisted by Karl Olsen — we also have Norwegian language classes for 30 minutes prior to the rehearsal to assist in the pronunciation and understanding of the Scandinavian words in our music.

Location of Rehearsals

First Presbyterian Church
20 Tacoma Ave S
Tacoma, WA 98402

Locations of Our Performances

Our performance venues include long-term care and senior centers in the Greater Tacoma area, the Scandinavian Culture Center at Pacific Lutheran University, and local area Nordic fests.

For more information,

Jon Malmin
Jean Malmin


President: Pete Petersen
Vice President: (Vacant)
Secretary: Loren Jangaard
Treasurer: Rick Perkins

Our Board of Directors also includes the following:

Historian: Gene Wilson
Marshal: Larry Schoenberg
Membership Chair: Vacant — but all members are also responsible for recruiting
Music Librarian: Shared by Jon Malmin and Pete Petersen
Trustee: Dave Bennett
Rod Riveness
Gaylord Warren
Past President: Rick Perkins

The Ladies of Normanna

Co-Presidents: Nancy Perkins
and Ellie Wilson
Secretary: Yvonne Riveness
Treasurer: Ida Hagan